Difference: BackupMacLaptops (5 vs. 6)

Revision 62021-12-03 - WilliamSeligman

Line: 1 to 1
 
META TOPICPARENT name="WilliamSeligman"
Line: 47 to 47
 
  • Click on the "Options" button:
    • Turn off the "Notify after old backups are deleted" option.
    • In the "Exclude these items from backups" panel, please please please add any folders whose contents you could re-download or re-sync if necessary. Examples:
Changed:
<
<
      • iTunes items (~/Music/iTunes/iTunes Music).
>
>
      • iTunes items (~/Music/iTunes/iTunes Music) or other purchased media files.
 
      • Cloud services (e.g., ~/Dropbox, ~/Google Drive).
      • Mail folders if you've set your mail reader to download mail for offline reading (e.g., ~/Library/Mail, ~/Library/Thunderbird). Note that this means your other mail settings (e.g., address book, custom spam filters) won't be backed up either unless you tweak the folder exclusion to go down to the profile level.
    • However, these exclusions will apply to your other Time Machine backup(s) as well. If these exclusions are not acceptable for your other backup, then don't exclude them here.
 
This site is powered by the TWiki collaboration platform Powered by PerlCopyright © 2008-2022 by the contributing authors. All material on this collaboration platform is the property of the contributing authors.
Ideas, requests, problems regarding TWiki? Send feedback